## MTY FOOD GROUP INC.

8150 route Transcanadienne, Suite 200 St-Laurent, Quebec, H4S 1M5

TSX Trading Symbol: "MTY"

## <u>NEWS RELEASE</u>

## MTY FOOD GROUP INC. ANNOUNCES RESULTS FROM 2018 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Montreal, May 2, 2018 - MTY Food Group Inc. ("MTY" or the "Company") (TSX: MTY), franchisor and operator of multiple concepts of restaurants, is pleased to announce that all matters set out in the management information circular dated March 28, 2018 for the 2018 Annual General Meeting of Shareholders held on Wednesday May 2, 2018 (the "Meeting") were approved by shareholders. Over 16,653,165 shares were voted representing 66.19% of the outstanding shares of the Company.

The following six nominees were re-elected as directors of MTY. The detailed results of the vote for the election of directors are set out below:

	# Votes For	% Votes For	# Votes Withheld	% Votes Withheld
Murat Armutlu	14,441,840	92.49%	1,172,439	7.51%
Stanley Ma	12,081,555	77.38%	3,532,724	22.62%
Gary O'Connor	15,572,439	99.73%	41,840	0.27%
Dickie Orr	15,568,738	99.71%	45,541	0.29%
Claude St-Pierre	12,425,735	79.58%	3,188,544	20.42%
David K. Wong	15,496,781	99.25%	117,498	0.75%

The Company's shareholders also approved the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, Chartered Professional Accountants, as Auditor of the Company for the fiscal year ending November 30, 2018.

Each of the matters voted at the Meeting is discussed in detail in the Company's Management Information Circular dated March 28, 2018. These can be found on SEDAR at <a href="www.sedar.com">www.sedar.com</a> under the Company's profile for public filings. Final voting results on all matters voted at the Meeting will be filed on SEDAR at <a href="www.sedar.com">www.sedar.com</a> under the Company's profile for public filings

The Board of Directors re-elected Mr. Stanley Ma, as Chairman of the Board and President/CEO of the Company, Ms. Claude St-Pierre was re-elected as COO and Secretary of the Company and Mr. Eric Lefebvre was re-elected as CFO of the Company. Mr. Dickie Orr, Mr. David Wong and Mr. Murat Armutlu were re-elected as members of the Company's Audit Committee. Mr. Gary O'Connor was appointed as new member to the Audit Committee and Mr. Armutlu was re-elected as Chairman of the Audit Committee.

Certain information in this News Release may constitute "forward-looking" information that involves known and unknown risks, uncertainties, future expectations and other factors which may cause the actual results, performance or achievements of the Company or industry results, to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking information. When used in this News Release, this information may include words such as "anticipate", "estimate", "may", "will", "expect", "believe", "plan" and other terminology. This information reflects current expectations regarding future events and operating performance and speaks only as of the date of this News Release. Except as required by law, we assume no obligation to update or revise forward-looking information to reflect new events or circumstances. Additional information is available in the Company's Management Discussion and Analysis, which can be found on SEDAR at <a href="https://www.sedar.com">www.sedar.com</a>.

On Behalf of the Board of Directors (	)I
MTY Food Group Inc.	
•	

Stanley Ma, Chairman, President & CEO

For more information please contact Eric Lefebvre, Chief Financial Officer at 1-514-336-8885 or by email at <u>ir@mtygroup.com</u> , or visit our website: <u>www.mtygroup.com</u> or SEDAR's website at <u>www.sedar.com</u> under the Company's name.				